Skip to Content

Senators Consider Ratification of Treaty with Uzbekistan to Fight against Illegal Migration

by February 25, 2020 General

At an extended meeting of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defense and Security chaired by Mukhtar Kul Mukhammed, the draft law On Ratification of the Treaty between the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Government of the Republic of Uzbekistan on Cooperation in the Fight against Illegal Migration was considered.

The document provides for the ratification of the intergovernmental Treaty on Cooperation in the Fight against Illegal Migration signed in the city of Tashkent on April 15, 2019.

According to Marat Kozhayev, First Deputy Minister of Internal Affairs, the purpose of the Treaty was to create a legal framework for bilateral cooperation in the fight against illegal migration as one of the most important areas of regulation of migration processes in the territories of the Contracting Parties.

Deputy Dana Nurzhigitova, who chaired the working group on the draft law, noted its importance for the development and strengthening of partnerships between the two countries in this area. In her opinion, the Treaty would make it possible to take effective joint measures aimed at combating illegal migration by exchanging statistical, scientific, methodological and other information used to avoid and prevent illegal migration. The parties would cooperate through training and advanced training of employees of the competent authorities handling migration issues; researches in the field of combating illegal migration; and organization of joint operational and preventive actions to fight against illegal migration in the territory of the states of the Parties.

Summing up, Senator M. Kul Mukhammed noted that the expected result of ratification of the Treaty would be ensuring national security, economic stability of the Parties by regulating issues of illegal migration. The draft law was proposed to be submitted to the next meeting of the Chamber.

Source: Mazhilis of the Parliament of the Republic of Kazakhstan