Skip to Content

Five Countries to Join UN Security Council Ranks in January

by June 8, 2018 Fun


Belgium, the Dominican Republic, Germany, Indonesia and South Africa have been elected to two-year terms on the U.N. Security Council.

The five will join the 15-nation body responsible for maintaining international peace and security on Jan. 1, 2019.

The vote Friday in the U.N. General Assembly generated little suspense, as all but one regional group ran a clean slate. The only contested seat was in the Asian-Pacific group, where Indonesia overwhelming beat Maldives 144-46.

Member states cast secret ballots and candidates must win a two-thirds majority of votes to succeed, even if they are running uncontested. Candidate countries capped off their campaigns with parties in the lead-up to the election.


Lindiwe Sisulu, International Relations Minister of South Africa, welcomed her country’s opportunity to sit on the council for a third time. South Africa has served two previous terms in 2007-’08 and 2011-’12.

She said her government would advocate for closer cooperation between the council and the African Union, and address its efforts toward conflict prevention and resolution, peacekeeping and peacebuilding.

“We believe that peace cannot be achieved without the participation of women � in peace negotiations, peacekeeping operations, and post-conflict peace-building and governance,” Sisulu told reporters. “During our tenure, we will ensure that a gender perspective is mainstreamed into all Security Council resolutions,” she added.

Indonesian foreign minister Retno Marsudi welcomed her country’s victory over “good friend” the Maldives. She said her government’s priorities would include combating terrorism and radicalism through developing a comprehensive global approach that addresses the root causes of the problem.

Source: Voice of America