Skip to Content

Bakytzhan Sagintayev awards the first winners of the International Triathlon Championship IRONMAN 70.3

by June 17, 2018 Health

Today, Prime Minister of the Republic of Kazakhstan Bakytzhan Sagintayev awarded the first winners of the international triathlon competition – IRONMAN 70.3. Astana became the first city in the CIS to host the event, which is considered one of the most difficult one-day competitions in the world.

The event takes place in Astana on the eve of the 20th anniversary of the capital. The honorable guests of the competition were also the President of the Kazakhstan Triathlon Federation Karim Massimov, the Minister of Culture and Sport Arystanbek Mukhamediuly and others.

According to the organizers, more than 1300 sportsmen from 47 countries of the world took part in the sports competition, about 700 of them were Kazakhstanis. Among the participants are Olympic champions Serik Sapiyev and Alexander Vinokurov, who were among the first to finish the race, as well as the leader of the Other You movement Valikhan Ten, the participant of the IRONMAN World Cup in Kuila-Kon Pavel Artyushenko, triathlonist Thomas Dreyer and other sportsmen that left their mark in triathlon history.

Bakytzhan Sagintayev congratulated the absolute champions of the first race: among women – Deirdre Casey (Ireland) and among men – Peter Wolkowicz (Germany). They overcame three continuous stages of a distance of 113 km.

Among other winners: the second place among men was taken by Viktor Aleshin (Russia), the third place by Sergey Khazov (Russia). Among women, second at the finish was Lyubov Polyanskaya (Russia), the third was Isabella Sobanska (Poland).

IRONMAN is a one-day race of three continuous stages: swimming (1.9 km), bicycle race (90 km), running (21.1 km), total length 113 km (70.3 miles). The athlete, who has overcome the full distance, receives the title of Iron Man. The triathletes are fighting for 50 slots to participate in the World Cup, which will be held in September this year in South Africa.

Source: The Prime Minister of Kazakhstan