Skip to Content

A.Myrzakhmetov participated in the 13th Summit of the Economic Cooperation Organization

by March 2, 2017 Fun

The Summit was attended by the Head of State of Iran, Turkey, Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, the Prime Minister of Pakistan and Kyrgyzstan, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Afghanistan, Vice-Premier of Uzbekistan.

From Kazakhstan was attended by Deputy Prime Minister – Minister of Agriculture of Kazakhstan A.Myrzahmetov.

The main objectives of the ECO in creating favorable conditions for economic development of the region, consistent and gradual integration of its member states in the global system of economic relations. Countries-members of the organization share common strategic goals: the development of economic infrastructure, modern institutions, increase productivity and expand regional trade.

During the Summit, the Kazakh side invited to the 4 directions of interaction. The first area – the implementation of infrastructure projects. Currently, Kazakhstan is a large-scale construction of the main arterial roads and railways. This enables integration with large projects EEC and the Silk Road Economic Belt.

In this regard, it was proposed to use the transit possibilities of Kazakhstan to expand cooperation between all of the Member States.

The second – to stimulate the development of regional trade and improving access of national products to the world markets. In this direction, the need for joint organization of multimodal transport and the creation of an extensive transport infrastructure network.

Here, Kazakhstan could act as a liaison for the ECO to other markets of Eurasia.

Third – energy security. Cooperation on energy market transparency and the introduction of new technologies in this field.

Fourth – cooperation within the framework of the International Financial Centre in Astana, which will start fully functioning on the basis of English law in 2018.

Also at the Summit, Vice-Prime Minister invited the participants to the first ECO Summit on Science and Technology, which will be held in Astana in September 2017

For reference:

Economic Cooperation Organization – an intergovernmental regional organization formed in 1985 and is the successor organization of Regional Cooperation for Development, established by three founding countries: Iran, Pakistan and Turkey in March 1977. Since 1992, the organization increased significantly due to the addition of seven new states – Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Afghanistan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. Officially Kazakhstan joined the ECO November 28, 1992.

Source: The Prime Minister of Kazakhstan